F for Fiction

a-to-z-letters-fFiction.:”something invented by the imagination or feigned; specifically : an invented story” ~ Merriam-Webster.com

Creative Lies.

I have an MA degree in History as well as English; therefore, people are always surprised when I tell them I don’t like to read History books (with a few exceptions) or Biographies. I don’t like toย  watch the History channel or the Discovery Channel or Women on Death Row or “Reality” TV. I like good ol’ fashioned lies. My mom often comments on my lack of “intellectual” TV watching with “You have two Masters’ degrees and you want to watch that crap?” Yes, I very much want to watch that crap. Just like some of my favorite books are brain candy books, junk reading. My guilty pleasures are crime shows, sci-fi and superhero movies, and supernatural books. My really really guilty pleasure? Archy comic books.

My life is full of reality: stresses from work and school and boys and family and all the stresses life dishes out. So, when I give myself time for entertainment, it’s going to be as far from reality as humanly possible. I’m always surprised when people tell me they don’t like to read fiction. I always wonder why. In fiction, there are thousands of worlds and times and people to know and interact with, to love and travel with. In fiction, anything is possible. I like going anywhere, being anyone, loving anyone. As a writer, I like to create people and places that only the imagination can think of. People and places that can only exist in the world of lies, in the world of fiction.

10 thoughts on “F for Fiction

  1. I am right there with you! I love make-believe, too. People say, oh, that’s just escapism. Well, duh! Yep, fiction is my drug of choice. Thanks for a great post.

  2. I love both fiction and non fiction – I read anything and everything. Am lost without a book – I guess it’s like a drug?
    Great post thank you!
    ref=”http://www.gardenofedenblog.com”>Susan Scott’s Soul Stuff

  3. I loved this post. I am coming to the end of my Grad studies. I’ll be a professional counselor with an undergrad in Humanities and Psychology. But I don’t like spend hours obsessing over counseling journals, or entertain writing peer-reviewed articles. I’d rather write. Fantasy, mystery, drama, and even religous. I get my kicks from watching drama…that’s how I ‘people watch.’ You know…I didn’t get that until just now. People, other writers talk about going out and people watching to get ideas and inspiration. I worried…is there something wrong with me because I don’t? But I do. I just do it MY way. LOL
    Your post…helped me find out something about myself. Thanks so much!!!

    Cheers,
    Michala T.
    www,bitemybook,com

  4. Amen, sister! I write fantasy and historical fiction. My guilty pleasures match many of yours. When I need to dump some stress, I love to watch action movies with lots of explosions. Real life is hard enough. Our imaginations want to party!

    Happy A to Z!

  5. I feel like reality stinks! Death, taxes, stopped up sewer systems and non-working appliances just is not my idea of entertainment. What I enjoy most is creating the fiction. Yes I also enjoy consuming it, but creating it really makes me the happiest!

Leave a Reply

