G is for G

a-to-z-letters-gIt’s only week 2 of this AtoZ challenge and I am already struggling. I am struggling to find the time mostly, but also struggling with things to write about for certain letters. But I’m not ready to give up just yet; I’ve enjoyed “meeting” all the other bloggers participating.

For some reason I was struggling with the letter G – ironic since my last name starts with G. Oh I thought of plenty, just nothing I really wanted to write about. It was this letter G that almost made me give up, Hmmm, Give up?

I also thought about the slang everyone uses now: got to instead of have to – I’m an English teacher and I still say got to a lot. I say gonna too instead of going to – it’s just easier.

Genius: I’m not feeling very genius these days. Writing is a struggle for me, as I said can’t even think of anything for G.

I could have written about grading. How that has been the bane of my existence this past week. Grading, the reason why I don’t have time to work on this blog. But no, grading was not something I wanted to write about.

I even came up with a character name: Galander – but it didn’t feel right. But I derived that name, for a a hero, from Gallant – and even with that brilliant G word staring me in the face, my genius couldn’t think of anything to write about. I love the word gallant. I love everything it represents and means, yet I still couldn’t think of anything to write about it.

By the gods this simple letter G is grounding my imagination. This good, great, glorious, grand letter G and I still can’t think of anything to write about. Hmmm . . .

9 thoughts on “G is for G

  1. lol…I had a thought

    the silent “g”

    also, funny it’s “g” today. My keyboard is giving me issues and my “g” key isn’t really working.

    whatever you do, don’t give up, just give.

  2. Gallant makes me think of the highlights magazine. Goofus and Gallant. (sp)? I could be wrong. Gallant was always doing things the ‘proper’ way. Goofus…well, he’s more like my son. Play play play. This makes me think that you need some play time. When your blogging becomes all ‘gallant’ and no ‘goofus’ of course you are going to hit a roadblock. Your post was honest, sincere, real. That makes me like it all the more.
    If this happens again, maybe tomorrow…I suggest you go somewhere that you dont often frequent. For me…that would be Starbucks (i hate coffee) or the mall (I hate that more than coffee) and take a notebook with some pens. I bet you’ll find something to write then. 🙂

    I’ll be back tomorrow to see what ya got for us.

    • Sadly, I gave up on the AtoZ (I’m sure you’ve noticed) it was just getting too difficult an really unfun. And I haven’t been writing much of anything the last few weeks, but hopefully that will change now that the semester has ended.

Leave a Reply

