Ridiculously Awesome!

a_good_day_to_die_hard-016

A Good Day to Die Hard

My dad never had sons. In fact, he has two daughters, two granddaughters, and no sons-in-laws. The only other pseudo testosterone in the house is a pathetic dog and a damn crazy cat – and they’ve both been fixed. It’s ok to feel sorry for him. Anyway, the reason I mention this is because I was raised as a total daddy’s girl. There’s no question that I am a princess to the core, but I also have my tom-boy side. I’ve helped my dad build a barn, change brakes, tractor the back pasture, ect. (I know I’m one hell of a catch, it’s amazing I’m still single 😉 ) Anyway, I also grew up watching cheesy sci-fi and corny westerns. I genuinely like the made for TV crap  on the SyFy channel. I love Chuck Norris and Jean-Claude Van Damme. If my dad wants to watch cheesy scifi, he’ll always have an date with me. And whenever I finally get around to watching the (original) Evil Dead, I know my dad will be first in line to join me.

So why am I giving you this (possibly embarrassing) biography? Because the made for TV crap and the Die Hards of the movie world are freaking AWESOME!

The newest Die Hard (A Good Day to Die Hard) is so horribly awful and that is exactly what makes it so incredibly awesome. (Minor spoiler alerts forthcoming). It was like the creators knew how unrealistic everything in every Die Hard  is, and so they made a point to go over the top. My favorite part: the father and son flipping off a crashing helicopter as they are flying out of an exploding building. I mean, honestly, does it get any better (worse) than that? The Expendables is another horribly awesome show I love. In the second movie, you have all the great action stars of the 80s and 90s – all the guys I grew up with as a daddy’s girl: Chuck Norris, Sylvester Stallone, Bruce Willis, Arnold Schwarzenegger, Jean-Claude Van Damme, ect. And all of their iconic lines from their hit movies, including: “I’ll be back”, “Yippi Ki-Yay Motherfucker”, references to the lone wolf, and “Who’s going to show up next? Rambo?” Ya, it really doesn’t get much better. Last Halloween, I watched a Sci-Fi movie called Morlocks. I’ve never seen a movie with such shitty special effects. I mean it was so completely obvious the creatures were transposed onto the screen via computer generation. Did I hate this movie? Hell no.

I love Dr. Who. Now some of you may be on the defensive, yelling at me saying, “What? That’s not cheesy!” The new series is awesome, but the Eccleston season was, well, quite cheesy. Let’s just say, I miss Eccleston sometimes. I love Buffy the Vampire Slayer (both the 80s movie and the TV show) and 21 Jump Street (the TV show) and one of my all time favorite shows ever: Saved By the Bell (the regular series, the college years, and the two made for TV movies – yes I own them all). In the course of 6 weeks, I’ve seen Evil Dead The Musical in Vegas twice – in the splash zone. And, right along with the rest of the audience, I yelled “Boomstick” and understood the Brisco County Jr. reference (because I used to watch that show). And there’s a very very good chance I’ll see it again . . . in the splash zone.

I do love great movies too, but there is definitely something to be said for cheesy, ridiculously awesome shows (especially if they’re science-fiction). Those shows that are so horribly awful, they can’t help but be awesome!

 

What are some of your favorite cheesy, ridiculously awesome TV shows or movies?

One thought on “Ridiculously Awesome!

Leave a Reply

